This gives a list of the divine and demonic qualities. One should strive to develop the divine qualities and reduce the demonic qualities.

  • Killing is wrong, humans or animals. Thus no meat eating, no eggs, no leather goods like sofa, car seats etc. Leather is made from cows.
  • Hatred towards anyone, regardless of religion, color, and nation is wrong.
  • Sex before marriage is wrong, sex outside marriage is wrong. Thus no girlfriends/boyfriends. In Vedic culture a girl with a boyfriend is called a prostitute.
  • Taking intoxication is wrong. Thus no drugs, no alcohol, no tobacco chewing, and no smoking.
  • Gambling is wrong. This means no betting on horses. No playing cards/games for money. One should not even visit gambling cities (like Las Vegas). By visiting a gambling city, you are supporting gambling and thus gambling indirectly.
  • Having disrespect for others is wrong. Everyone (regardless of religion, color, fat, thin, good looking, ugly looking, old etc.) should be greatly respected. The eldest should be given the greatest respect.
  • Not socializing with friends and relatives is wrong. This means one should visit the friends and relatives as often as possible. Even some animals socialize. So those who do not socialize are lower than the animals.
  • Not being compassionate is wrong. Being compassionate is one of the most important human qualities. The first chapter of the Bhagavad-Gita is all about how compassionate Arjuna was to even those who wanted to kill him. Lord Krishna only gives divine knowledge (Bhagavad-Gita to such compassionate people.
  • Not being considerate of others is wrong. One should always be considerate of others at all times. Always consider the welfare, well-being, and safety of others before yours.
  • Not being charitable is wrong. One should give a portion of all income in charity to competent temples and the poor on a regular basis (whenever the income is received). Giving charity to unworthy people or to in-competent temples is a waste.

Competent temples are those that give knowledge (preach) on a daily or weekly basis and have qualified Brahmans who are based on qualifications and not because of birth. The Bhagavad-Gita clearly states that one can only become a Brahman by qualifications and not by birth.

In-competent temples are those that give no knowledge (no preaching) and have Brahmans who are based on birth and not qualifications.

The Divine Qualities

  • Non-violence
  • Love for all living beings
  • Truthfulness
  • Simplicity
  • Charity
  • Self-control
  • Austerity
  • Cleanliness
  • Forgivenes

The Demonic Qualities

  • Violence
  • Hatered
  • Untruthful
  • Materialism
  • Pride
  • Arrogance
  • Conceit
  • Lust
  • Anger
  • Greed
  • Harshness
  • Ignorance
  • Ego