What is Pure Bhakti?

What is Pure Bhakti?

A pure devotee is only interested in constantly meditating on Lord Krishna and engaged in His personal service.

Only in Sanatan-Dharma there is the possibility of pure devotional service unto God, because in other religions, there is no possibility of personal service to God. For them, God is invisible, unseen, unknown, and unknowable. Essentially, God is not real outside Sanatan-Dharma. This is because, He is only real in one religion, due to the fact that He is only One.

“Thus because he is completely absorbed in meditation upon Me, the devotee does not desire even the highest benediction obtainable in the upper planetary systems, including Satyaloka. He does not desire the eight material perfections obtained from mystic yoga, nor does he desire to be elevated to the kingdom of God. Yet even without desiring them, the devotee enjoys, even in this life, all the offered benedictions.” (Teachings of Lord Kapila, 16.37)

On the planet of Satyaloka, life is thousands of times more opulent than life on planet earth, and the people there have a lifespan of trillions of years. Lord Brahma, who lives on Satyaloka, has a lifespan of 311.040 trillion years. His one day (24 hours) is 8.64 billion years.

A pure devotee has no interest in going and living on Satyaloka.

The eight primary mystic yoga perfections are as follows:

1) Anima-siddhi – The ability to decrease the size of one’s body and become smaller than the smallest particle. Through this siddhi one may enter into stone or change the density in one’s body, enabling one to pass through solid matter.

2) Mahima-siddhi – The ability to increase the size of one’s body, ultimately enveloping the universe.

3) Laghima-siddhi – The ability to make one’s body lighter than air and fly at will. The perfection of this siddhi enables one to travel on the sun’s rays and enter into the sun planet.

4) Prapti-siddhi – The ability to manifest any object one desires within one’s hand. This siddhi removes the limitations of space which separate two objects from each other. It is said one will even be able to touch the moon with one’s finger [i.e. the limitation of distance is removed].

5) Prakamya-siddhi – The ability to attain anything one desires.

6) Ishita-siddhi – The ability to control the sub-potencies of the laws of nature. This enables one to control various energies and seemingly defy the laws of nature. On the lowest level, one may make fire come from one’s mouth, etc.

7) Vashita-siddhi – The ability to bring others under one’s control.

8) Kamavasayita-siddhi – The ability to attain anything anywhere. This is the highest of the eight and contains most of the abilities of the other perfections.

A pure devotee has no interest in any mystic yoga perfections.

“One who knows that material happiness, whether good or bad, in this life or in the next, on this planet or on the heavenly planets, is temporary and useless, and that an intelligent person should not try to enjoy or even think of such things, is the knower of the self. Such a self-realized person knows quite well that material happiness is the very cause of continued material existence and forgetfulness of one’s own constitutional position.” (SB 9.19.20)

A pure devotee has no interest in worldly happiness, which is   temporary and useless. How many times have you heard people say only if I had this and that then I can be happy, and then after they get their desires fulfilled, they are even more miserable.


More Updates

Related Links

Facebook updates

Social Links